something from nothing

Being a kitchen creative has been a bit of a life saver for me. Sometimes it’s the only creativity I can justify because I have too many other things going on, but cooking something, ANYTHING, is a great way to exorcise the dark needies in a way that turns all that goes on in my head into something lovely and happy-making.

My kitchen, in all of its usual chaos, is a place I can go to and become inspired to create immediately. I can look around and find something ugly, like this bunch of apples that were about to go bad:

And from finding apples, or zucchini, or whatever else needs some TLC before it gets wasted, to end product I sprinkle some of this and process events and sprinkle some of that and relive a confusing or difficult conversation and then I add a little of something else and the cymbal-wielding monkey that is my psyche works away at figuring my shit out and the automatic parts of my brain kick-in and focus elsewhere on creating:

How cool is it that our brains get to work that way? That they can just separate their processes and make magic happen on so many different levels? That we can let that cymbal monkey do its thing and have something delicious be the product of dealing with all of those dark thoughts:

Leave a Reply

