playgrrrrl

So, I paid into the patriarchy and purchased the current edition of Playboy magazine last night. The current edition features a very snappy cover (I’m a sucker for a great cover), pre-US-election journalism and a mémoir of Hef’s girlfriends over the last 50 years. How does a girl resist?

The first thing I paid any kind of attention to was an article about the pros and cons of dating single mothers. I’ll have more to say about that at another time, I’m sure. Directly after meeting that article, I had a gaggle of 6 year old trick or treaters come to my back porch, where I was quietly enjoying the magazine, a cigarette and a glass of whisky, who interrupted my reading. Damned kids.

I haven’t picked it up since.

Tonight, the daughter discovered it. It all went a little like this:

Daughter: You did buy that Playboy!

Me: Yup, but I haven’t really read it yet.

Daughter: I’m reading it.

Me: But I haven’t read it yet!

Daughter: So?

Me: Fine, but no adopting crazy expectations about nudity, beauty and sexuality, k?

Daughter: Duh. Thanks, Tips.

Soon after:

Daughter: Did you know that pixelation of models has increased 2700%? That’s just censorship. Censorship is overrated.

Daughter: Hugh Hefner had a lot of girlfriends.

And this is why I let the sprogs read (almost) whatever the fuck they want.

One Comment on “playgrrrrl”

  1. Brad says:

    Smart kids. Must be the genes.


Leave a Reply

